EFCC tackles gov for pardoning a commissioner, 5 others that stole N15b


Seyi Olofinmoye, Lagos

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission may be heading for a showdown with the Sokoto state governor, Aminu Tambuwal, who allegedly pardoned six people standing trial for stealing public funds.
Already, the anti-graft body has challenged the power of Governor, Tambuwal, to grant pardon to the defendants, that includes; a serving commissioner in his cabinet, Alhaji Tukur Alkali, who is the Commissioner for Animal Health and Fisheries Development.
Others pardoned include the Commissioner for Home Affairs, Isa Achida; the Chairman, Governing Board, National Commission for Colleges of Education, Alhaji Maigari Dingyadi; the member representing Isa constituency at the House of Assembly, Alhaji Habibu Modachi; and a Permanent Secretary, Isah Bello.
It was learnt that all the pardoned officials, now serving under the current Tambuwal administration, were in 2009 arraigned alongside a former governor of Sokoto State, Attahiru Bafarawa, for an alleged N15bn fraud, having also served under him between 2002 and 2007.
The EFCC had also arraigned 10 others before a Sokoto State High Court for the same alleged offences.
Curiously, however, only those who are currently serving under Tambuwal were pardoned while the others, including Bafarawa were left to their fate.
The anti-graft agency, however, on its Facebook page said it had filed an appeal and would ensure that the five pardoned persons do not escape justice.
The EFCC said, “The EFCC, on September 25, 2017 filed an appeal at the Court of Appeal, Sokoto Division, challenging the judgment delivered by the Sokoto State High in respect of pardon granted by the Governor of Sokoto, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, to five accused persons who were charged alongside former governor Attahiru Bafarawa.
“It would be recalled that on June 29, 2017, the Sokoto State High Court presided over by Justice Bello Abbas delivered a judgment discharging five accused persons, Alhaji Tukur Alkali, Bello Isah, Alhaji Isah Sadiq, Alhaji Habibu Modachi and Alhaji Muhammadu Dingyadi.
“The ruling was sequel to a motion filed by the respondents seeking to be discharged from further criminal proceedings based on a pardon granted to them by the Sokoto State Government.”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.